Webinar Registration

The Power of Listening:
Understanding Both Sides of the Research Animal Debate

Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Session 1: 10:00 AM (New York) / 15:00 (London) / 16:00 (Paris)
Session 2: 1:00 PM (New York) / 18:00 (London) / 19:00 (Paris)

NOTE - registration for this event will close at 5:00 PM EDT on Tuesday, April 20th.

Robert Gately famously said that "Effective communication starts with listening." And nowhere is the application of this precept more important than in the global debate over the necessity and value of research animals. In this webinar noted Laboratory Animal Science professional Steven M. Niemi, DVM, DACLAM will discuss how the two sides of this debate can better learn how to listen to one another and, if not agree, then perhaps come to an understanding of their divergent, yet equally held beliefs. This free of charge webinar is presented by Allentown.

AALAS CEUs: This webinar is eligible for 1.00 Technician CEU credit or 1.00 CMAR CEU credit. A confirmation email will be sent to all attendees upon conclusion of the webinar.

PRESENTERS

Steven M. Niemi, DVM, DACLAM

With over 40 years’ experience in biomedical research and commercial biotechnology, Steve has held senior management positions in contract drug and device development, biotech start-ups in gene therapy and genomics, and laboratory animal care and assurance. He is a Diplomate and past president of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine and has served on numerous boards and national task forces addressing medical product development and laboratory animal welfare. Steve earned an AB with a concentration in Biology from Harvard College, a DVM from Washington State University, and received a US Public Health Service National Research Service Award while a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He completed the Program for Management Development at the Harvard Business School in 1991 and was a 2019-2020 Visiting Fellow in the Animal Law & Policy Program at Harvard Law School. A collection of Steve’s essays, “Notes in the Category of C: Reflections on the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals”, was published by Academic Press, a subsidiary of Elsevier, in 2018. He currently holds an appointment as Adjunct Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University.